Warning: Parameter 1 to wp_default_scripts() expected to be a reference, value given in /home2/rba/public_html/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 601
Warning: Parameter 1 to wp_default_styles() expected to be a reference, value given in /home2/rba/public_html/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 601

Rock Band Rivals’ Rivals Mode Detailed


It’s been a little bit since we’ve had any new Rock Band Rivals news, but that drought has come to an end! We got brand new details today on the new Rivals Mode that will be featured in Rock Band Rivals.

The first thing you’ll notice in Rivals in the new Rivals Hub, where you can find information about your crew. Within the Rivals Hub, there are two types of songs: Weekly Challenge Songs and Spotlight Songs. Weekly Challenge Songs contribute to your overall Crew XP, which will then increase your standing amongst other Crews in a similar tier. Spotlight Songs require you to get a high score on a specific instrument. The average percentile of your Spotlight Score and your Crew XP will determine your Rivals Points, which in turn are used to promote or demote your crew to or from a tier. You’ll also be given a skill ranking for your individual instrument on each song on a scale of 0-1000.

A good crew consists of ten players, and ideally all the instruments would be represented. Fortunately for people who don’t play on expert all the time, if ever, there’s still a way to be helpful to the crew. By playing weekly challenge songs you can contribute to your Crew XP and help the crew move up to the next tier.

In addition, Rock Band will be launching the Rock Band Companion App for iOS and Android (nothing mentioned about Windows Phone) that will allow you to essentially access the Rivals Hub in your pocket and let you easily communicate with your crew members.

[Official announcement]

September’s DLC Artists (Mostly) Unveiled!


It’s the first announcement of the month, and with that, we have the next round of artists for the month. Let’s see what’s on tap:

Definitely some interesting stuff in there, but perhaps the most interesting is the mystery artist. It almost definitely had to be something amazing in order for them to want to keep it a secret in here. As for what it is? Only time will tell…

[Official announcement]

DLC for 9/6: Five Finger Death Punch & Good Charlotte


It’s our first week in a while where we’re going in blind with regards to what to expect, and it’s an early announcement because of Labour Day. It could be anything! Maybe some new stuff from long time Rock Band artists Green Day or Blink-182 to promote their new records? Possibly some new indie faces like The Vaccines or Passion Pit? Who knows! Well, you will if you look below…

  • Five Finger Death Punch – Wrong Side of Heaven
  • Good Charlotte – Lifestyles of the Rich & Famous

All songs are $1.99.

[Official announcement]

DLC for 8/30: 80s Singles


It’s the end of the month and there are only two artists left meaning the only thing left to find out is what songs are coming. Well, look no further because this is what you’ll be rocking out to this week!

  • Heart – What About Love?
  • Winger – Seventeen

All songs are available for $1.99.

DLC for 8/23: Pop Hits


It’s pop week, after a long break since our last. Anything catch your eye, or is this a rest period for your wallet?

  • Jason Mraz – I’m Yours
  • Nicki Minaj – Starships

All songs are available for $1.99 each.

More Red Hot Chili Peppers songs leaving the Rock Band store


It’s been a while since we’ve had one of these, but I suppose this one isn’t a huge surprise. It was announced today that the I’m with the Chili Peppers pack will be removed from the Rock Band store on or before September 16th, so if you don’t have these songs you’d be advised to jump on it now (in fact, it was voted the third best DLC release of 2011 by RBA readers!)

  • Red Hot Chili Peppers – The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers – By the Way
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers – Californication
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers – Look Around
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers – Monarchy of Roses
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers – Otherside
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers – Parallel Universe
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers – Scar Tissue

The pack is available for $13.49 and there’s still a little bit of an opportunity to get it before it’s gone forever. In addition, if you play Pro-Guitar/Bass, the following songs have Pro upgrades:

  • Red Hot Chili Peppers – The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers – By the Way
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers – Californication
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers – Otherside

[Official announcement]