Warning: Parameter 1 to wp_default_scripts() expected to be a reference, value given in /home2/rba/public_html/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 601
Warning: Parameter 1 to wp_default_styles() expected to be a reference, value given in /home2/rba/public_html/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 601

Beatles: Rock Band Vocal Harmonies Explained

Ed Sullivan

Wired was able to get a good in depth look into how the Beatles: Rock Band vocal harmonies work.  As expected, instead of just one mic, you will now be able to connect up to to three mics at a time.  These three mics still count as one player, and you’ll be able to select “solo” or “harmonies” when playing.  Solo just gives you one line to pay attention to while singing.  Harmonies give you one line for the lead singer, and two other lines for the other two singers.

The nice thing is that you technically don’t have to sing harmonies; three singers can all sing the lead vocal track, but you won’t max your score unless you do harmonize.  After the song, you’ll be able to see how the singers did together, or you can select to see additional detail which will show how all three singers did.

[via Wired]

The Beatles: Rock Band Track Listing Unveiled?

Beatles One

Website Ripten claims to have received a leaked tracklist of the the full lineup for the Beatles: Rock Band. It does agree with what Harmonix has been stating that the game with feature 45 Beatles songs, but some of the songs I noticed in the opening cinematic (Rocky Raccoon, Maggie Mae, Carry That Weight, etc.) don’t appear below, so personally wouldn’t put too much weight behind this.  They don’t claimed how they received it, so I would take this with a big grain of salt, but check out the full list below:

UPDATE: Joystiq contacted Harmonix, who didn’t beat around the bush to say that it’s fake. Didn’t sound legit, but based on the finite number of Beatles songs, I’m sure they got a few right. Here’s Joystiq’s post.

  • “I Saw Her Standing There”
  • “Please Please Me”
  • “Twist and Shout”
  • “All My Loving”
  • “I Wanna Be Your Man”
  • “She Loves You”
  • “I Want to Hold Your Hand”
  • “A Hard Day’s Night”
  • “And I Love Her”
  • “Can’t Buy Me Love”
  • “I’m A Loser”
  • “Baby’s in Black”
  • “I Feel Fine”
  • “Help!”
  • “Ticket to Ride”
  • “I’ve Just Seen a Face”
  • “I’m Down”
  • “Drive My Car”
  • “In My Life”
  • “If I Needed Someone”
  • “Day Tripper”
  • “Taxman”
  • “She Said She Said”
  • “And Your Bird Can Sing”
  • “Paperback Writer”
  • “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band”
  • “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds”
  • “Good Morning Good Morning”
  • “I Am the Walrus”
  • “Hello Goodbye”
  • “Revolution”
  • “Back in the USSR”
  • “While My Guitar Gently Weeps”
  • “Birthday”
  • “Everybody’s Got Something to Hide Except Me and My Monkey”
  • “Helter Skelter”
  • “Hey Bulldog”
  • “Come Together”
  • “Something”
  • “Octopus’s Garden”
  • “Here Comes the Sun”
  • “Don’t Let Me Down”
  • “Dig a Pony”
  • “I’ve Got a Feeling”
  • “Get Back”

[via Joystiq via Ripten]

Behold… ROCK CAKES!!!



What’s better than cup cakes? ROCK BAND cup cakes! Or as popularized on Twitter, ROCKCAKES! As far as I know, these or the only such Rockcakes in existence. I had an urge for cup cakes this weekend, and with some spare time yesterday afternoon, ingredients from a local cake shop, and a steady hand, the Rockcakes came to be.  But the most important part, they taste AWESOME! Yellow cake cupcakes with black butter cream frosting and white frosting. They came out better than I thought they were going to. I give them five stars:

Five Stars

Also, it took a long time before I perfected the making of the Rockcakes. Here are some of the rejects…

Rockcakes Rejects

Rockcakes Rejects

DLC Week of 6/16

Here’s what you can look forward to next week in terms of DLC (via @smeeguel on Twitter). I’m no longer posting the iTunes and Youtube links to the DLC songs… Let me know if you would like those to continue. Anyway, here ya go:

  • Evanescence – Bring Me to Life
  • Evanescence – Call Me When You’re Sober
  • Evanescence – Weight of the World
  • Spinal Tap – Back From the Dead
  • Spinal Tap – Rock ‘n’ Roll Nightmare
  • Spinal Tap – Saucy Jack
  • Spinal Tap – Warmer Than Hell

Let’s Give Some Stuff Away…


No, not beer, but free stuff coming your way!  I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to make this an every week thing, but I want to start giving away Rock Band gear, accessories, and DLC credits on Fridays.  Here’s what I was thinking.  I’ll post a random Rock Band related question sometime after noon (Central time), and then open the comments to everyone to give their answer (one comment per person, please).  Sometime Sunday afternoon/night, I’ll pick a random name and send them an email letting them know they have won.  Not sure if I’ll get around to doing something this Friday, but come back next Friday for sure and I’ll have some FREE stuff to give away!

Official: Green Day coming ONLY to Rock Band


OK, now we can move this from rumor column to official column. After the not-so-secret got out, I think Harmonix decided to confirm some of the rumors.  Announced earlier today, the FIRST (as in more to come) of Green Day DLC will come out on July 7th as a three-pack from their latest album “21st Century Breakdown.”  According to the announcement from Harmonix, “Additional Green Day songs and projects will be announced at a later date.”  The songs are:

  • 21 Guns
  • Know Your Enemy
  • East Jesus Nowhere