Warning: Parameter 1 to wp_default_scripts() expected to be a reference, value given in /home2/rba/public_html/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 601
Warning: Parameter 1 to wp_default_styles() expected to be a reference, value given in /home2/rba/public_html/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 601

Play Rock Band with the Mayhem Fest Bands

For those of you really into last week’s Mayhem Pack, I get some good news for you. Looks like some of the bands from the pack will be playing Rock Band with fans at the Mayhem Festival this summer, according to Harmonix’s weekly ezine (see below).


Bands and dates are as follows:

  • Behemoth: July 14, 17, 18, 29, 31, August 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15
  • Job for a Cowboy: August 11, 14, 15
  • Whitechapel: July 20-26
  • God Forbid: August 3-9

DLC for Week of July 14


Didn’t like the Green Day 3-pack or Mayhem Festival 8-pack from this week? Let’s see if Harmonix can make it up to you next week.

Here’s what coming out for the Xbox 360 and PS3:

  • Judas Priest “Dissident Aggressor (Live)”
  • Judas Priest “Eat Me Alive (Live)”
  • Judas Priest “Prophecy (Live)”
  • Big Dipper “All Going Out Together”
  • Big Dipper “She’s Fetching”
  • Big Dipper “Younger Bums”
  • The Dead Weather “Hang You From the Heavens”
  • The Dead Weather “No Hassle Night”
  • The Dead Weather “Treat Me Like Your Mother”

And for all you Wii players out there, here’s your DLC for next week:

  • Foreigner “Blue Morning, Blue Day”
  • Foreigner “Feels Like the First Time”
  • Foreigner “Headknocker”
  • The Killers “Mr. Brightside”
  • The Killers “Smile Like You Mean It”
  • The Killers “Spaceman”
  • The Pixies “Crackity Jones”
  • The Pixies “Dead”
  • The Pixies “Debaser”
  • The Pixies “Gouge Away”
  • The Pixies “Here Comes Your Man”
  • The Pixies “Hey”
  • The Pixies “I Bleed”
  • The Pixies “La La Love You”
  • The Pixies “Monkey Gone to Heaven”
  • The Pixies “Mr. Grieves”
  • The Pixies “No 13 Baby”
  • The Pixies “Silver”
  • The Pixies “Tame”
  • The Pixies “There Goes My Gun”
  • Thrice “Image of the Invisible”
  • Black Rebel Motorcycle Club “Weapon of Choice”
  • Dear and the Headlights “Sweet Talk”
  • The Devil Wears Prada “Hey John, What’s Your Name Again?”

And last but not least, here’s the DLC for Rock Band Unplugged:

  • Radiohead “My Iron Lung”
  • Killswitch Engage “My Curse”

[Official announcement]

Rock Band to Go Console-Less in the Future?

Guitar Fever!!!1!

Possibly, according to Harmonix Creative Director Josh Randall.  He sees that the evolution of rhythm based music games may move beyond the console, and instead be embedded inside an actual music instrument. As more and more stakeholders become involved, the next step in development evolution would be to remove the console altogether.

What do you think? Instrument controllers without the console… possibility or inevitability?

[via Videogamer.com]

More Pepsi Rock Band DLC!

Pepsi Rock Band

Hooray! Not all DLC was available if (and usually when) you win a free song via the Pepsi Rock Band promotion. While the bank of songs still does not feature ALL of the DLC, there was a small increase recently featuring some more recent DLC tracks. I’ve included what appears to be the additional DLC songs eligible for winning below.

Also, @AltStrum on Twitter was awesome enough to put together a list of all songs available as DLC  as part of the Pepsi promotion over at DLCQuickplay.com under an account labeled “Pepsi,” so you can compare all of your songs versus all of those available via the promotion to see what you still need. Very cool, check it out here.

  • All that Remains – Chiron
  • All that Remains – This Calling
  • All that Remains – Two Weeks
  • Bad Religion – 21st Century (Digital Boy)
  • Ben Harper – Shimmer & Shine
  • Boston – Something About You
  • Chiodos – I Didn’t Say I Was Powerful, I said I Was a Wizard
  • The Cranberries – Linger
  • Coheed and Cambria – The Running Free
  • Evanescense – Bring Me To Life
  • Evanescense – Call Me When You’re Sober
  • In This Moment – Forever
  • Iron Maiden – 2 Minutes to Midnight
  • Iron Maiden – Run to the Hills (Original Version)
  • Iron Maiden – The Number of the Beast (Original Version)
  • Iron Maiden – The Trooper
  • Lacuna Coil – Closer
  • Lacuna Coil – Swamped
  • Maroon 5 – A Little of You Time
  • Maroon 5 – Makes Me Wonder
  • Maroon 5 – Wake Up Call
  • Ministry – LiesLiesLies
  • Phish – Wilson (Live)
  • Presidents of the United States – Feather Pluck’n
  • Shooter Jennings – Steady at the Wheel
  • Sixx AM – Life is Beautiful
  • Taking Back Sunday – Liar (It Takes One to Know One)
  • Taking Back Sunday – MakeDamnSure
  • The Mother Hips – Red Tandy
  • The Mother Hips – Time Sick Son of a Grizzly Bear
  • The Offspring – Hammerhead
  • TV On the Radio – Wolf Like Me
  • Underoath – Reinventing Your Exit
  • Zombies – She’s Not There

[Scorehero via @AltStrum]

Guitar Hero 5’s Drumset Looks Familiar

image via Engadget

image via Engadget

With the release of NeverSoft and Activision’s third iteration (not counting Aerosmith & Metallica) of their version of Guitar Hero (remember, Harmonix made Guitar Hero 1 and 2), it looks like the drum set will have a significant overhaul, according to a blurred image sent in to the folks over at Engadget. Apparently, there is now a cross bar between the set’s legs, the controller panel has been moved to the front, and in general, it looks a lot like another franchise’s drum set…

[via Engadget]

The Beatles: Rock Band Pre-Order Club Update

I Feel Fine

The Pre-Order site for The Beatles: Rock Band has been updated today with a hi-res screenshot of the Fab 4 performing “I Feel Fine” at Shea Stadium. There are also some awesome looking hi-res wallpapers for the game inside, as well.

To get the code to see these goodies, you need to have to have pre-ordered game.  Haven’t pre-ordered yet?  Shame on you!  I recommend taking advantage of the Gamestop deal that also gives you 3 free DLC tracks here.